Dive Authorization Course
The Spring Lake Management Plan requires that anyone diving in Spring Lake must first take the Spring Lake Dive Authorization course (DAC). This requirement is in place to ensure that all divers entering Spring Lake are knowledgeable of the rules and regulations that apply here.
Scuba diving in Spring Lake, for any reason, is complicated by the delicate nature of the environment. Declared a "Critical Habitat" in 1980, Spring Lake is home to eight federally listed species and is governed by the rules and regulations of the Endangered Species Act of 1973. In addition, Spring Lake is registered as an Archaeological site governed by the rules of the state of Texas Antiquities Law. Consequently there is no recreational diving in Spring Lake.
Course Duration: One day beginning at 9 a.m., plus the time necessary to complete take home modules and assessments (approx. four hours).
The Spring Lake Dive Authorization Course is divided into four take-home academic modules and assessment quizzes that are to be completed by each student prior to the beginning of the class.
Students will meet for one full day at Spring Lake where the assessment quizzes will be reviewed, diving skills will be assessed, a tour of the springs will be given and common volunteer tasks will be demonstrated.
This course is PASS/FAIL. Students must score at least 70% on each of the assessment quizzes and demonstrate that they are competent divers (good buoyancy control and situational awareness) in order to pass.
Requirements for taking the Spring Lake Dive Authorization Course:
Show proof of a Full Open Water SCUBA Certification through a major Dive Training Agency (at this time Junior Open Water and Junior Advanced Certifications are not being accepted);
Show proof of a minimum of 20 logged dives beyond their training dives;
Students must provide all of their own equipment, including tanks and weights.
Pay the Course fee of $230 per student*, **, ***
Students must complete and turn in all required paperwork.
*If fees for the course are to be paid through an organization, the Department, the Lead Supervisor, or the Responsible Organization should make Requests.
**Current Texas State students, faculty and staff receive a 50% discount on the course fee, making the total fee $115.
***Veterans and Dive Instructors receive a 25% discount on the course fee, making the total fee $172.50.
Note: Training will usually take place on weekends; however, it can be conducted during the week as well. These accommodations will be addressed on a case-by-case scenario with a minimum number of participants required.
Course dates for 2019 are as follows:
- Saturday, January 5: Few Seats Remaining
- Saturday, January 19
- Saturday, February 23
- Saturday, March 16
- Saturday, April 13
- Saturday, April 27
- Saturday, May 11
- Saturday, May 25
- Saturday, June 22
For further inquiries or to register for the DAC, please contact the Spring Lake Diving Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org or at 512.245.7541.