Dive Authorization Course
COVID-19 UPDATES: Spring Lake is open daily to the public in a limited capacity. Pre-registration is required for glass-bottom boat tours as well as volunteer and open water checkout scuba dives. More information.
The Spring Lake Management Plan requires that anyone diving in Spring Lake must first take the Spring Lake Dive Authorization course (DAC). This requirement is in place to ensure that all divers entering Spring Lake are knowledgeable of the rules and regulations that apply here.
Scuba diving in Spring Lake, for any reason, is complicated by the delicate nature of the environment. Declared a "Critical Habitat" in 1980, Spring Lake is home to eight federally listed species and is governed by the rules and regulations of the Endangered Species Act of 1973. In addition, Spring Lake is registered as an Archaeological site governed by the rules of the state of Texas Antiquities Law. Consequently there is no recreational diving in Spring Lake.
- The course takes place over two days.
- Academics – Day One
- The Spring Lake Dive Authorization Course is divided into four academic modules and assessment quizzes that are to be completed by each student prior to the beginning of class.
- The academic portion of the class is conducted via Zoom two days prior to the diving portion. The class is approximately 2 hours long and begins at 6:30pm.
Diving – Day Two
Students will meet at Spring Lake for a diving skills assessment, familiarization with the grounds and a tour of the springs, as well as a demonstration of common volunteer tasks to create and maintain viable habitat in the springs.
The diving portion takes place on the dates listed below. This portion is approximately 4 hours long and begins at 1pm.
- All course materials and related information will be provided after registration.
- This course is PASS/FAIL. Students must score at least 70% on each of the assessment quizzes and demonstrate that they are competent divers (good buoyancy control and situational awareness) in order to successfully complete the course and earn a Spring Lake Diving rating.
Requirements for taking the Spring Lake Dive Authorization Course:
- Show proof of a Full Open Water SCUBA Certification through a major Dive Training Agency (at this time Junior Open Water and Junior Advanced Certifications are not being accepted);
- Show proof of a minimum of 25 logged dives;
- Students must provide all of their own equipment, including tanks and weights.
- Pay the Course fee of $230 per student*, **, ***
- Students must complete and turn in all required paperwork.
*If fees for the course are to be paid through an organization, the Department, the Lead Supervisor, or the Responsible Organization should make Requests.
**Current Texas State students, faculty and staff receive a 50% discount on the course fee, making the total fee $115.
***Veterans and Dive Instructors receive a 25% discount on the course fee, making the total fee $172.50.
Saturday, January 30CLOSED Friday, February 5CLOSED Friday, February 12CLOSED Saturday, February 13CLOSED Saturday, March 6CLOSED Friday, March 12CLOSED Saturday, March 27CLOSED
For further inquiries or to register for the DAC, please contact the Spring Lake Dive Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org. The Spring Lake Diving office hours are Monday through Friday, 9:30am to 5:00pm.